Meet Terra Olsen, Featured Geek

Terra and ChewbaccaI love “meeting” new people online! Social networking is a fun way to get connected with new friends who share my geeky, quirky interests.

Recently, I met Terra, a wonderfully nerdy lady who writes the blog “Have You Nerd.”

Terra credits her family for instilling the geek in her. Family board game nights and Nintendo sessions with her father ignited Terra’s love for gaming. In addition, her family’s extensive comic collections created the false belief that every family must obsess over the Golden and Silver Ages.

Terra’s other obsessions include Tolkien, Star Wars, Firefly, History, Cooking, and 1970’s Sci-Fi. She has happily converted her husband, Randall, into a gamer as well and now he asks her to play MTG. Besides being the founder of Have You Nerd, a female nerd blog, she is a staff member at GeekGirlCon.

Terra has a BA in History from UCLA, and a MA in Medieval Studies from University of Toronto. Terra also enjoys painting, hiking/backpacking, crafting, and traveling.

I enjoy learning some little bits of trivia about my geek friends, and Terra was willing to answer some silly questions for me. Here are her answers.

What’s your favorite take-out food?
Sushi. I am incredibly lucky to live in Seattle where we have amazing seafood, which then results in really great sushi. Yum!

What’s the last book you read and enjoyed?
The Early Asimov by Isaac Asimov. I loved this book! It is a collection of early Asimov stories, complete with an explanation and history before every story. It was fascinating to read about Asimov’s life at the time of writing each story. I am a history and science fiction nerd, so this book really hit all my nerd points.

What’s in your Netflix queue?
Documentaries. Lots and lots of documentaries. I was curious how many documentaries are actually in my instant queue percentage wise, so I counted–60%. My husband is more of a ‘movie’ guy though, so we often trade off. I pick a documentary, he picks a movie. Two of my favorite documentaries last year were Juri Dreams of Sushi and Bill Cunningham New York.

Which track on your iPod has the most listens?
Oh I just reset my iPod, so I can’t accurately answer this. If I was to guess it would probably be either a Talking Heads or Modest Mouse song.

What phone app can’t you live without?
Google Maps. I have come to rely on it way to much. Viva la Google!

What is your favorite movie quote?
“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.”
-Thorin

Okay, I am totally cheating because this is from the Hobbit book, but I figured it should be in the movie…eventually. But this quote simplifies my philosophy for life in general (wrote about it here, if anyone is interested).

I’ve enjoyed getting to know Terra, and I hope you’ll take a minute to visit her site and follow her on Twitter.

The Square Root of Three

I don’t think I’ve ever seen an entire “Harold and Kumar” movie, but I’ve been lucky enough to see this scene a few times. Every time, I fall in love with this poem all over again.

The poem is entitled, “The Square Root of Three,” and is attributed to David Feinberg.

This is the nerdiest, most romantic bit of geek wordsmithery I’ve ever heard. If you know of any other nerd/geek love verses, please let me know!

I fear that I will always be
A lonely number like root three.

A three is all that’s good and right.
Why must my three keep out of sight
Beneath a vicious square root sign?

I wish instead I were a nine,
For nine could thwart this evil trick
with just some quick arithmetic.

I know I’ll never see the sun, as 1.7321.
Such is my reality, a sad irrationality.

When, arc! Just what is this I see?
Another square root of a three
Has quietly come waltzing by.

Together now we multiply
To form a number we prefer,
Rejoicing as an integer.

We break free from our mortal bonds.
And with a wave of magic wands,
Our square root signs become unglued,
And love for me has been renewed.

Geek Crafts: Knitting for Nerds!

Knits for Nerds book cover

I’m a huge nerd, and I’m also an avid crafter! That’s why I’m so excited about this new book: Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects for Fans of Science Fiction, Comic Books, Fantasy by Joan of Dark a.k.a. Toni Carr.

There are some fantastic, geeky projects in this book, and they’re accompanied by photos and knitting instructions. Some of my favorites? Mobius scarf, Hobbit feet slippers, and the “Aim to Misbehave Brown Jacket.” I’m a crocheter, but this book might inspire me to pick up two sticks and learn to knit! Seriously! I can make my own Browncoat?! That is awesome.

Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects: Science Fiction, Comic Books, Fantasy

I got my free copy of Knits for Nerds from the publisher, but you can buy yours from Barnes & Noble. 🙂

Old Floppy Drives do Darth Vader Duet

Well, you may have seen Star Wars and prequels and sequels a hundred times, but you’ve never heard the theme like this! Here are two old disk drives doing the “Darth Vader Duet.”

Fans of the Star Wars films know how powerful the “Imperial March” theme is. It’s the ominously dark, majestic theme that accompanies Darth Vader’s evil presence in the movies. Well, you may have seen Star Wars and prequels and its sequels a hundred times, but you’ve never heard the theme like this! Here are two old disk drives doing the “Darth Vader Duet.” This is the perfect combination of art and technology. Enjoy!

Source: Silent.org.pl

Are you ready for pi day?

pi shirt

In honor of the upcoming scholarly holiday, I am highlighting a fun shirt from my shop. Yes, self-promotion time. Plus, I think this is a very cool shirt. I guess that might tell you something about how un-cool I am. 😉

The “I LOVE PI” shirt expresses my nerdy tendencies and punny sense of humor (I know, it’s so funny, you forgot to laugh) in a geek chic fashion statement. If this kind of thing appeals to you, go check it out. Remember, pi day is 3.14. That’s March 14, get it? Right on!

Great Gadget: Water Powered Clock

water clockThis water-powered clock is so cool! Not only does it run on water (or any electrolyte liquid), but it can even do bud-vase duty.

That’s good news, because not only will it tell time for two to three months on a single fill of the reservoir, but looking at flowers in the morning can help you feel better. It’s true. (You can read more about the Harvard study on flowers here.)

So this clock can help you use fewer batteries and help improve your mood. Sounds like a winner! Too bad it doesn’t make breakfast too… Get more information at ThinkGeek.

Declare your Geekiness in style with this video watch

videowatch.jpgRemember those super cool calculator watches from the 1980s? Well, if you had one of those back then, you will definitely want one of these new video watches now!

The one pictured here is available from ThinkGeek for about $79 US. Features include:

  • A 128 x 128 pixel full color OLED screen (better picture and uses less energy than LCD)
  • 2 GB flash memory
  • Built-in microphone
  • Audio and video playback
  • Leather band and sleek metal case
  • Charges by USB, and plays for up to 7 hours on a charge (4 hours for video play)

Oh, and it also tells time. No calculator, though. Get more information here.