Create Mandala Art with Your Words

Create your own mandala-style word art

I’m a big fan of words, letters, and interesting patterns, so I was excited to find this cool mandala word art generator! You can type in some letters, use the sliders to adjust the size and overlap of the characters, and view, share, or save your creation in seconds!

Mandala-style "Todd"
Mandala-style “Todd”

I tried a few different words and decided I like shorter words better, because I can still kind of see what letters are in the finished product. If you want to use a longer message and create something very mysterious, that would also be cool. You could hide a secret mantra or message in your mandala, and nobody would ever know what it means, besides you.

Go try it at Mandific and let me know what you come up with! I’d love to see your creations, whether they are big and clear, or cryptic and complicated.

Mandala-style "sunshine"
Mandala-style “sunshine”

Minecraft Birthday Invitations

minecraft-invitationHello, friends! I’m planning another Minecraft birthday party, and I’ve just put together some postcard-sized invitations.

I’m sharing them with you, because I know there are lots of other kids out there who want Minecraft parties, and there aren’t a lot of ready-made paper goods to buy.

These invitations are free printables! I’ve put in the basic information fields, so you can print them out and fill them in by hand, or you can use your software to type right into the pdf and print the whole thing.

These print 4 to a page, and you can use a sheet of cardstock or Avery perforated postcards. Enjoy!

Free Minecraft printable birthday invitations

DIY Terrarium Instructable

Terrarium
Here is a beautiful terrarium with nicely written instructions. I’d love to have this little glass garden hanging in my home! It’s assembled with low-maintenance plants that need very little water. I love having something living and green in my house when it’s cold and snowy outside!

Check out the Instructables page and learn how to make your own terrarium. This is definitely on my list of things to try!

Star Wars Printable Masks

Happy Halloween, everybody! This year, our family has one bleeding-Scream-face teenager, a homemade 5th grade Viking, and a 2nd grade kitty cat. Does your family need some last-minute Halloween help? Here are some free printable Star Wars masks. Click for the pdf, print it out, and you’re ready to party!

Star Wars Clone Wars Masks

Star Wars printable masks Episode 3

Star Wars Classic Masks with Princess Leia and Wicket the Ewok

More Classic Star Wars Printable Masks

Looking for more great printables and online Star Wars activities? Visit the official Star Wars site for all kinds of papercraft, recipes, worksheets, and games.

Looking for more Star Wars stuff?


http://www.entertainmentearth.com/cjdoorway.asp?url=hitlist.asp?theme=Star+Wars

Geek Crafts: Knitting for Nerds!

Knits for Nerds book cover

I’m a huge nerd, and I’m also an avid crafter! That’s why I’m so excited about this new book: Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects for Fans of Science Fiction, Comic Books, Fantasy by Joan of Dark a.k.a. Toni Carr.

There are some fantastic, geeky projects in this book, and they’re accompanied by photos and knitting instructions. Some of my favorites? Mobius scarf, Hobbit feet slippers, and the “Aim to Misbehave Brown Jacket.” I’m a crocheter, but this book might inspire me to pick up two sticks and learn to knit! Seriously! I can make my own Browncoat?! That is awesome.

Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects: Science Fiction, Comic Books, Fantasy

I got my free copy of Knits for Nerds from the publisher, but you can buy yours from Barnes & Noble. 🙂

I made this! Skyrim-inspired Helmet/Beanie/Hat

Skyrim helmet crocheted beanie
My handmade Skyrim "helmet" beanie

Happy New Year, everybody! I have a new addiction to confess: SKYRIM! It’s an amazing role-playing game, with a huge story, beautiful landscapes, lush soundtrack, interesting characters, and DRAGONS! The game is too big to describe here, but let me say this: it is immersive, and it sucks you right in!

Between Skyrim sessions (while my hubby was playing), I was inspired to design a “helmet” like the Iron Helmet in the video game. Here’s what I came up with! My very own Skyrim-inspired beanie, made with my own little hands. What do you think?

I posted a couple of photos on my Facebook page, and some people asked about buying the Skyrim hat. So I’ve put a listing in my Etsy shop (Skyrim inspired “Iron Helmet” with horns) if anybody’s interested.

Geek Crafts: nerdJERK

As a geek and crafter, I’m always on the lookout for especially nerdy creations. Here is an excellent example! Stephanie Cortes, gamer, blogger, and crafter, does some amazing work with yarn and fabric.

geek crafts
Meta Knight by nerdJERK
As a geek and crafter, I’m always on the lookout for especially nerdy creations. Here is an excellent example! “nerdJERK” Stephanie Cortes, gamer, blogger, and crafter, does some amazing work with yarn and fabric. Check out this Meta Knight!

Stephanie specializes in Nintendo game characters, and you can see more of her amazing work at her Etsy shop and on her Flickr photostream.

I salute you for your contributions to Global Geekery, nerdJERK! Keep up the awesomeness!